London Symphony Orchestra

Pre-concert lecture at 1:45 in the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse
Sunday, October 25, 2015 at 3:00 pm
Avery Fisher Hall
  • Dance Suite
  • Piano Concerto No. 2
  • Concerto for Orchestra

It’s always an event when the Russian star conductor Valery Gergiev comes to town.”

New York Times

A regal bear of a pianist with seemingly limitless technique.”

New York Times on Yefim Bronfman

On the 70th anniversary of Bartók’s death, the London Symphony Orchestra presents a selection of his masterpieces under principal conductor Valery Gergiev. “Brilliantly charismatic” (New York Times) pianist Yefim Bronfman presents the “finger-breaking” Second Piano Concerto, and the evening concludes with Bartók’s most popular work, the Concerto for Orchestra.

Valery Gergiev, conductor

Yefim Bronfman, piano