London Symphony Orchestra

Friday, October 23, 2015 at 8:00 pm
Avery Fisher Hall
  • Bartók: The Miraculous Mandarin
  • Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3
  • Stravinsky: The Firebird (complete)

A blazingly committed performance…played as though the orchestra’s collective life depended on it.”

Classical Source on the LSO and Gergiev

Mr. Bronfman is a pianist with comprehensive skills who can seemingly play anything.”

New York Times

The London Symphony Orchestra and principal conductor Valery Gergiev present iconic ballet scores, from Bartók’s scandalous Mandarin to Stravinsky’s Firebird. Yefim Bronfman, a pianist with “technique to burn” (New York Times), performs Bartók’s nostalgic Third Piano Concerto, written on the composer’s deathbed from his apartment on West 57th Street.

Valery Gergiev, conductor

Yefim Bronfman, piano