Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Wednesday, January 6, 2016 at 8:00 pm
Avery Fisher Hall
  • Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor
  • Symphony No. 5 in E minor

Langrée was an animated leader who drew glowing, inspired playing from his musicians.”

Cincinnati Enquirer

Coiled virtuosity and fleet-fingered articulation.”

Miami Herald on Alexander Gavrylyuk

Louis Langrée, beloved Renée and Robert Belfer Music Director of the Mostly Mozart Festival, brings his Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra to join the Great Performers anniversary season. In this all-Tchaikovsky program, Ukrainian-Australian pianist Alexander Gavrylyuk performs the melodious First Piano Concerto, built upon Ukrainian folk music. Celebrating personal victory through strife, Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony rounds out the evening on a triumphal note.

Louis Langrée, conductor

Alexander Gavrylyuk, piano